Fiction

Baby Wren and the Great Gift

So, this particular review is a bit out-of-the-norm for me. But seriously, as a mother of five, it was only a matter of time…right?

When I first began doing reviews, I decided that this little corner of my world (my blog, my book reviews) would be just for me. I am sorry if that rubs anyone the wrong way, but I am a firm believer that…while my children are my whole world…I am still Stacie. The woman who is separate from motherhood. But that’s for another blog post.

My Hannah is 6 years old. She’s a God-adoring, nature-loving, sound-barrier-breaking, homemaking feminist in training. (Homemaking Feminist. It’s an actual thing, in our house.) But almost over night, she went from confidence to comparison. She began to compare her height, her hair, her eyes and her talents to those of her friends, as well as strangers alike. One thing that has concerned her most, lately, is her singing ability. (Guys, I’m not even exaggerating when I say that she has a set of lungs on her. The girl can sing, and she certainly didn’t get it from me!)

Baby-Wren-and-the-Great-Gift-by-Sally-Lloyd-Jones

When I saw this book, I decided to get it for Hannah. She was so excited to receive it, and was even more excited when we read through it for the first time.

Baby Wren spends an entire day, observing those around her. She is in awe over the wonderful things that they can do; but quickly realizes that she cannot do what they can do. She can’t fly as high as the Eagles. She can’t swim as well as the Sun Fish. So on and so forth. By the day’s end, she is pretty upset about these things, having allowed comparison to rob her of her joy.

But then, she starts to feel the urge to sing. (Have any of you heard a Wren sing? Look it up on YouTube. Teeny tiny bird, big ginormous song!) And sing she does. She sings her little heart out. The end result, is that those she compared herself to earlier in the day were amazed by her and what she could do. Such a beautiful little story! Thank you, Sally Lloyd-Jones! I seriously want to buy all of her books, now.

Now my daughter likes to listen to the birds singing in the morning, and points out to me which birds are singing which songs. All of them different, all of them wonderful.

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

