Christian Living

5 Minutes with Jesus: Peace for Today

I. love. this. book.

After surviving 2015, I was more than excited to begin a brand new year when 2016 came around. But one companion of mine came waltzing into 2016 with me, and a most unwelcome companion at that: Anxiety. Anxiety is trying desperately to take over my life. With anxiety, stress, fear and worry taking up residence in this brain of mine, who has room for peace? What the heck does peace even look like, anyway? And where on earth does one find it?

One finds it with Jesus.

9780718032555

I knew this. I really did. But sometimes, seeking after Jesus and the peace that He offers is a tough thing to do. Especially when you’re already tired and worn out. It doesn’t help matters that everyone has their own answer to this problem, either. “Take every thought captive,” some say. “Get away from home for one hour every afternoon,” say others. “Be sure to spend an uninterrupted morning in nature at least three times a week,” I read. My all time favorite one yet is, “Get up in the morning before your husband and children, to spend time with God.” (Let’s see, 1 husband + 5 children + school schedules + morning chores – when I went to bed the night before = getting up at 4:30 A.M. Um, NO.) Don’t get me wrong…every spare second I have, I am studying my Bible and spending time with God. But spending uninterrupted time with Him to find ever-elusive peace is a difficult task.

When I saw the book “5 Minutes with Jesus: Peace for Today,” I grabbed it up right away. Now let me clarify this: I did not want this book because I am only willing to give my King 5 minutes of my day. I wanted this book because it gave me hope thatΒ maybe this was my answer to finding some peace right as my day begins. And guess what? It most definitely is.Β sheila_walsh01_l

Sheila Walsh is a brilliant author to begin with. Each little 5 minute segment is filled with peace. Where to find it, how to keep it, how to seek it, where to apply it. I wake up in the morning a few minutes before everyone needs to awakened, and immediately open this book. The author never fails to calm the anxiety that seems to hit as soon as I open my eyes, and sets my perspective on Jesus and the peace that is already mine; already there for me to claim.

Bottom Line: We all need peace in our hearts and our lives. First? Find Jesus. (He’s incredibly easy to find, Friends.) Then? Get this book.

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “5 Minutes with Jesus: Peace for Today

  1. Pingback: Pressing Pause

Leave a Reply

