Christianity · Non-Fiction

Live Free

So, I never actually grew up. I freely, happily and openly admit this. Which is why, when I began having children, I quickly purchased coloring books for them. Because then I’d have an excuse to color! Wheeee!

But then…oh glorious of days…these little bits of heaven referred to as “adult coloring books” began to make an appearance in bookstores. They began showing up on Amazon, on my Instagram feed, at Barnes and Noble and finally on my favorite book review sites. (Enter annoyingly-pitched squeal, here.)

Now, as a completely mature and dignified 37 year old (oh my gaw, I couldn’t write that with a straight face), I find it pretty amusing that I am so picky about my coloring books. (Seriously, how can you even read that sentence without cracking up? I’m picky about my coloring books. Hilarious.) Honestly, it comes down to inspiration. I need the book to inspire me; I need the pages to inspire me. Otherwise I don’t feel like being creative.

live_free_cover_grande

When I saw this coloring book pop up on my review feed, the first thing I did was look up the author. And it was reading about her that made me grab up this book as quickly as I could. Seriously, her “About Me”page starts out with her official bio…which begins by stating that she is a self-proclaimed “hot mess,” and shares her impressive list of conferences, books and media coverage…and then drops this little gem dead-center:

“Margaret spends most mornings with her good friends Coffee and God. Without Coffee, mornings would be difficult. Without God, life would be impossible.”

Yeah. You want to buy her coloring book now too, don’t you? Told ya.

(You can read more about Margaret Feinberg here.)

 

With all of that said, I absolutely adore this coloring book! Each page is beautifully illustrated; some are absolutely adorable, others are lovely and intricate. All of them have a Bible verse to ponder over as you color, focused on the freedom that we have in Jesus Christ. Every last corner is inspiring. I am a pretty high-anxiety person right now, and grabbing this book and my favorite colored pencils helps center my soul and calm me down.

Bottom Line: Creativity, centered on God. Can’t get any better than that.

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Live Free

Leave a Reply

