Christian Fiction

Amish Park

Oh my stars, this book. I am a huge Thomas Nye fan, so I knew that I would love this book from the start. However, what I didn’t expect was the emotional reaction I would have to the story.

nye
Pete and Lisa have decided to end their marriage. Their youngest daughter, Natalie, plans a trip for the whole family to a location called “Amish Park.” Her hope is that her family will find some healing during their Amish adventure. Pete, Lisa and their eldest daughter Carrie begrudgingly decide to humor Natalie and go on one last week-long family vacation. The direction their adventure takes them, however, just may surprise everyone involved.

Being a novella, I was able to finish this book in one day. But truth be told, if this had been a full novel, I would have stayed up into the wee morning hours to finish it. It was just so good! The characters are all well-developed, personable, relatable and memorable. (I absolutely love Jonas.) Thomas Nye is always so amazing at describing scenes, circumstances and emotions, planting his readers right into the middle of the story. But, being a born horse-lover, the stars of the story for me were Manny and Lady. I absolutely fell in love with these gentle giants, and loved the role they played in Pete’s story. I pretty much cried my way through the last third of the story.

author
‘Amish Park’ is filled with God’s hope, God’s forgiveness, God’s grace and God’s providence. It is a heart-warming, cozy story that had me thanking Jesus for His care of each one of us. (I also then re-read my current issue of “Horse Illustrated,” because Manny and Lady. That is all.)

A highly recommended read!

**I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Amish Park

Leave a Reply

