Christian Living

Of Mess and Moxie

Recently I read a book called Cultivate by Lara Casey. I absolutely flipping loved that book. It was a balm to the wounds of my heart and unbelievably encouraging. So when I saw Of Mess and Moxie up for review, I didn’t automatically reach for it. I love Jen Hatmaker, and thoroughly enjoyed her first book For the Love. But I felt like Cultivate had given me everything I needed, and didn’t feel any desire to read another book of that genre.

But it kept nagging at me. Partly because I love owning every book that my fave authors put out. But also because the book continued to be available on the review site…shocking, as popular books usually disappear within a matter of hours.

When two weeks came and dashed off again, and Of Mess and Moxie was still available, I finally caved and requested the book. Two weeks later (because five kids) when I read the last page, I was grinning from ear to ear. Whereas Cultivate was comfort food, Moxie was a glass of wine. I wanted to hug the author of Cultivate, treat her to a coffee and then ask her to be my BFF. With Moxie, I wanted to high-five the author, find our tribe, come up with really cool super-hero names and then start a mosh pit at a TobyMac concert.

Just sayin’.

I think perhaps my friend Shelby said it best…”Cultivate is a warm tea and a cozy evening. Moxie is like margaritas with friends.”

moxie

Jen Hatmaker is raw, open and honest. She doesn’t adhere to the Christian “norm” of presenting herself as perfect or having it all together, all wrapped up with the world’s best marriage and wonderfully behaved children. (Does this drive anyone else bonkers?! Why would anyone want to become a Christian if that’s what Christianity is? Sorry folks, I’m a mess and that’s why I need Jesus. Anyway, I digress.)

In Of Mess and Moxie, Jen takes you through life lessons that she has had to learn, all with unbelievable hilarity. I literally laughed out loud through 90% of the book. Literally guffawed in the middle of my husband’s television show, in the bathroom right after my shower (you gotta read where you can), and once while my son was doing his homework. I was supposed to be helping him. You can imagine his surprise when I ugly laughed (like an ugly cry, only louder and happier) in the middle of his math equation.

jen

Sister Friends, you need to buy this book. For you, for your friends, for your kids’ teachers, for that nice barista, for your bank teller, for your neighbor, for your daughters and your daughters-in-law. We women need to stick together, we need to be real, we need to encourage one another and take on the world by each other’s side, and we need to do it all while laughing embarrassingly loud.

Also, you need to listen to “This One’s For the Girls” by Martina McBride before you begin reading the book.

Just trust me.

**Thank you to BookLook Bloggers for the opportunity to read and review this book! 

 

One thought on “Of Mess and Moxie

Leave a Reply

