Christian Living

Women Who Move Mountains

Now and again, I enjoy popping onto YouTube to see what other book lovers are reading and discussing. One of my favorite things is when said BookTubers discuss books that others love, but they themselves just don’t click with. I always find it fascinating that the same book can resonate with one person, yet not evoke any emotion in another. Thus it was for me, when I found Women Who Move Mountains on Amazon and started perusing reviews.

Everyone loves this book! Absolutely everyone!

Except for me…

mountains

I am not a fan of writing negative reviews. The last thing that I want to do is give a thumbs-down to someone’s hard work. The thing is, Women Who Move Mountains is packed full of great things, wonderful Truths, awesome prayer strategies and lots of heartfelt stories. But there was just something about the writing itself that didn’t ring with me. And the most frustrating part, is that I can’t quite put my finger on it.

The book set-up was done well, though it felt a wee bit disorganized at times. The writing itself was done well, too; but it never went beyond words on a page for me. And so, because I wasn’t having a heart-connection to the book, I had a difficult time staying focused on it while I was reading. I found myself distracted at times, bored at others, and not reaching for it when it was time to curl up with a book. Truly, there’s not much more that I can say as I can find no fault within the book itself. It just wasn’t the book for me.

Bottom Line: A nice book about prayer; just not the best.

**Thank you to Bethany House for the opportunity to read and review this book! 

One thought on “Women Who Move Mountains

Leave a Reply

