Christian Fiction

Invitation

If I were to ask you the name of a book that changed your life, would you be able to recall the title?

For me, there’s more than one. Daughter of a Thousand Years and In the Shadow of the Storm are two recent books that hit me soul-deep. The very first books, however, to shift my world were by Frank Peretti. They are This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness, and they are my very first loves. To this very day, I remember the names of the angels and the main characters, their storylines and how I felt when I read through the books.

So when I was offered the opportunity to read and review The Invitation, I very quickly picked up on Frank Peretti’s name amongst the authors. Bill Myers, Angela Hunt and Alton Gansky are new to me, so I was really excited to read their work.

Invitation

This book is so flippin’ good, and completely different than anything I’ve read. The four authors didn’t write the story together as a whole, but instead, tried something a little different. There are four characters in the book…Brenda, The Professor, Andi and Tank…and each author chose a character and wrote from that character’s perspective. The book is laid out like a television series. It’s literally brilliant.

For example, the book begins with Bill Myer’s contribution. He writes from the perspective of Brenda (a tattoo artist who sees images of the future). We get 12 chapters of the events from Brenda’s view, including how she feels about the other characters as she meets them. It’s like an entire television episode devoted to Brenda and her awesome abilities. That section closes with it’s own Epilogue, and then we begin the “episode” written from The Professor’s perspective. All the characters are still there, except the circumstances are now different and we see things through The Professor’s eyes. Everything that happens seems increasingly supernatural, with the characters coming together as a team to tackle each mystery using his or her unique abilities.

Isn’t that so cool??

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the way that it was written. I look forward to getting my hands on the other books in the series, as I really loved the characters! (Especially Tank. I might have a crush on Tank. I think it’s pretty likely. It’s highly probable. Although I still have a crush on Sonnung from Daughter of a Thousand Years and Adam from In the Shadow of the Storm. So, there’s that.)

Bottom Line: If you enjoy supernatural suspense, with relatable characters who come to realize just how bada*s they are individually, as a team and with God’s help…then you will love this book!

**Thank you Bethany House for the opportunity to read and review this book! 

Leave a Reply

