Book Reviews · Historical Fiction

Storms Gather Between Us

Storms Gather Between Us

by Clare Flynn

Publication Date: June 17, 2019
Canelo Saga
Paperback & eBook; 384 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance

Life can change in a single moment…

Living under the watchful eye of her controlling and abusive father, Hannah Dawson’s hopes for freedom and happiness seem a distant dream. Her mother, passive and ashamed of her self-preservation, refuses to challenge her husband. It is the mysterious circumstances of her long-lost Aunt Lizzie’s disappearance in the 1920s that inspires Hannah to seek a better life.

Since escaping his family’s notoriety in Australia Will Kidd has spent a decade sailing the seas, never looking back. Content to live the life of a wanderer, everything changes in a single moment when he comes face to face with a ghost from his past on a cloudy beach in Liverpool.

Hannah and Will are thrown together by fate and bonded by secrets from long ago. Now, they discover a love like no other. But with Hannah’s father determined to see her wed to a man of his choosing they must fight against a tyrant who has ruined many lives. Even if they succeed, can they escape the chains of their histories? And will their plans for a future be possible when the whole world is changing forever…?

A compelling tale of family secrets and undeniable love against the odds, perfect for fans of Susanne Goldring and Fiona Valpy.

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Barnes and Noble | Google Play | Hive UK | iBooks | Kobo

Nautical rope vector borders. Dividers vintage

Hi Y’all!

Okay, so I had the serious pleasure of kicking off my summer by diving into a book written by a new-to-me-author. I love discovering new authors, and Clare Flynn did not disappoint. Storms Gather Between Us was slightly out of my usual reading bubble…(I’m not usually one for novels with a romantic twist, but lately I’ve been really enjoying them. Go figure!)…so I went in with high hopes and more than a little curiosity.

The first thing that struck me was Clare Flynn’s character creation. Specifically Will Kidd, at least at the start. The beginning of the book focuses primarily on developing Will’s humanity. I adored that the author took her time in revealing all of his facets, which meant that as the story progressed, I felt that I knew how Will would perceive each situation and what effect different characters would have on him. The neat thing too, is that the author allowed this to happen with even the side characters. Though we only meet her briefly, you will walk away from the story wanting to know so much more about Rafqa. (Dear Ms. Flynn, can one of your future books be about Rafqa? Love, your new adoring fan.)

You will also equally fall in love with Hannah and her resilience (sneaking library books? Yasss Girl), find yourself a trifle annoyed with Sarah and Judith (one needs a backbone and the other needs to learn when to be quiet. But I forgive them), and full of contempt for Mr. Dawson (you got what you deserved, Bro). Y’all, I have read so many books that had pages full of lackluster characters that not only didn’t jump off the page, but stayed firmly planted in the book when I shelved it. But not so with Will and Hannah, and Rafqa too.

I need to also mention that the author was fabulous at setting a scene and fleshing out each place that the characters walked. It was quite simple to jump into the story and see through Will and Hannah’s eyes. The plot itself and the way the story progressed was also pretty great. There were a couple spots that felt a little rushed to me in the story-line, but it did not detract from the plot whatsoever.

Bottom Line: A wonderful read. Very thought-provoking and emotion-inducing, with a lovely ending and memorable characters. I recommend!

Nautical rope vector borders. Dividers vintage

About the Author

Historical novelist Clare Flynn is a former global marketing director and business owner. She now lives in Eastbourne on the south coast of England and most of her time these days is spent writing her novels – when she’s not gazing out of her windows at the sea.

Clare is the author of eleven novels and a short story collection. Her books deal with displacement – her characters are wrenched away from their comfortable existences and forced to face new challenges – often in outposts of an empire which largely disappeared after WW2.

Fluent in Italian, she loves spending time in Italy. In her spare time she likes to quilt, paint and travel as often and as widely as possible. She is an active member of the Historical Novel Society, the Romantic Novelists Association, The Society of Authors, NINC and the Alliance of Independent Authors.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, July 13
Review at Passages to the Past
Feature at The Lit Bitch

Tuesday, July 14
Review at A Darn Good Read

Wednesday, July 15
Feature at What Is That Book About
Excerpt at Books In Their Natural Habitat

Thursday, July 16
Review at Amy’s Booket List
Feature at Lost in a Book Reviewer

Friday, July 17
Excerpt at Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

Saturday, July 18
Feature at Donna’s Book Blog

Sunday, July 19
Excerpt at Bookworlder

Monday, July 20
Review at Pursuing Stacie
Feature at Reading is My Remedy

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away 2 eBooks of Storms Gather Between Us by Clare Flynn! To enter, please use the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on July 20th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Paperback giveaway is open to the US only.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.

Storms Gather Between Us

 

One thought on “Storms Gather Between Us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s