Historical Fiction

Last Christmas in Paris

Last Christmas in Paris: A Novel of World War I
by Heather Webb and Hazel Gaynor

Publication Date: October 3, 2017
William Morrow Paperbacks
Paperback & eBook; 384 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction

New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor has joined with Heather Webb to create this unforgettably romantic novel of the Great War.

August 1914. England is at war. As Evie Elliott watches her brother, Will, and his best friend, Thomas Harding, depart for the front, she believesóas everyone doesóthat it will be over by Christmas, when the trio plan to celebrate the holiday among the romantic cafes of Paris.

But as history tells us, it all happened so differentlyÖ

Evie and Thomas experience a very different war. Frustrated by life as a privileged young lady, Evie longs to play a greater part in the conflictóbut how?óand as Thomas struggles with the unimaginable realities of war he also faces personal battles back home where War Office regulations on press reporting cause trouble at his fatherís newspaper business. Through their letters, Evie and Thomas share their greatest hopes and fearsóand grow ever fonder from afar. Can love flourish amid the horror of the First World War, or will fate intervene?

Christmas 1968. With failing health, Thomas returns to Parisóa cherished packet of letters in handódetermined to lay to rest the ghosts of his past. But one final letter is waiting for himÖ

Praise for Last Christmas in Paris

ìBeautifully toldÖthe authors fully capture the charactersí voices as each person is dramatically shaped by the war to end all wars.îóBooklist

ìFor fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society comes another terrific epistolary historical novel that is simply unputdownable […] this remarkable novel will undoubtedly go on my keeper shelf.î óKaren White, New York Times bestselling author of The Night the Lights Went Out

ìHumor, love, tragedy, and hope make for a moving, uplifting read. A winner!î óKate Quinn, author of The Alice Network

ìAn extraordinary epistolary novel that explores the history and aftermath of the Great War in a sensitive, memorable and profoundly moving fashion. A book to savor, to share and discuss with friends, and above all to cherish.î óJennifer Robson, international bestselling author of Goodnight from London

ìThere is a special talent to writing the epistolary novel and Gaynor and Webb have mastered it. Letter by letter, the complex lives of Evie and Thomas unfold as WWI wages on, bringing with it the heartbreaking news of physical and emotional casualties. And yet, in the midst of such sacrifices, an ever-deepening love surfaces, finding a unique way to live on in this devastatingly beautiful work of historical fiction.îóRenee Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | Chapters | IndieBound | Kobo

border1

My Review: Oh, this book. You know that feeling you get when a novel so immerses you in the setting, that you forget where you are?

Yeah, that.

Last Christmas in Paris follows Evie Elliot and her childhood friend, Thomas Harding during World War I. The story opens with an elderly Thomas, reminiscing about the war days via letters exchanged between friends and loved ones during war time.

While there are a few different characters in the book, Evie and Thomas (in my opinion) were the strongest voices. I greatly enjoyed how their relationship grew; it was more of a slow-burn than a quick passion, which allowed their romance to be a minor part of the overall story. The achingly poignant part of this novel for me, was seeing the change in the men as the war drug on. At the onset, the soldiers expected to be home in time for Christmas. When Christmas came and went, seeing the men become withdrawn, forlorn, angry, traumatized and hollow was a difficult thing to read. On the other end of things, to see Evie step out in bravery to share openly the realities of wartime was incredibly inspiring. Even if I wasn’t such a history nerd, I would have loved this book through and through.

So now, only one question remains; will Thomas finally open the last letter he received?

border1

About the Authors

HEATHER WEBB is the author of historical novels Becoming Josephine and Rodin’s Lover, and the anthology Fall of Poppies, which have been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Cosmopolitan, Elle, France Magazine, and more, as well as received national starred reviews. RODINíS LOVER was a Goodreads Top Pick in 2015. Up and coming, Last Christmas in Paris, an epistolary love story set during WWI will release October 3, 2017, and The Phantom’s Apprentice, a re-imagining of the Gothic classic Phantom of the Opera from Christine Daae’s point of view releases February 6, 2018. To date, her novels have sold in ten countries. Heather is also a professional freelance editor, foodie, and travel fiend.

HAZEL GAYNOR is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of A Memory of Violets and The Girl Who Came Home, for which she received the 2015 RNA Historical Novel of the Year award. Her third novel The Girl from the Savoy was an Irish Times and Globe & Mail Canada bestseller, and was shortlisted for the BGE Irish Book Awards Popular Fiction Book of the Year. The Cottingley Secret and Last Christmas in Paris will be published in 2017.

Hazel was selected by US Library Journal as one of ëTen Big Breakout Authorsí for 2015 and her work has been translated into several languages. Originally from Yorkshire, England, Hazel now lives in Ireland.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, September 25
Review at 100 Pages a Day
Review at Books of All Kinds

Tuesday, September 26
Review at The Lit Bitch

Wednesday, September 27
Review at Just One More Chapter
Review at History From a Woman’s Perspective

Thursday, September 28
Review at So Many Books, So Little Time

Monday, October 2
Review at Let Them Read Books

Tuesday, October 3
Spotlight at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, October 4
Review at A Literary Vacation

Friday, October 6
Review at Library Educated

Monday, October 9
Review at A Bookish Affair
Review at Suzy Approved Books

Tuesday, October 10
Interview at A Bookish Affair

Thursday, October 12
Review at Creating Herstory

Friday, October 13
Review at Pursuing Stacie

Monday, October 16
Review at Curling up by the Fire

Tuesday, October 17
Review at Faery Tales Are Real

Wednesday, October 18
Review at The Maiden’s Court
Interview at Faery Tales Are Real

Thursday, October 19
Review at A Holland Reads

Friday, October 20
Review at CelticLady’s Reviews

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour we will be giving away 2 copies of Last Christmas in Paris! To enter, please enter via the Gleam form below.

Giveaway Rules

ñ Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on October 20th. You must be 18 or older to enter.
ñ Giveaway is open to residents in the US & Canada only.
ñ Only one entry per household.
ñ All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
ñ Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.

Last Christmas in Paris

Advertisements

One thought on “Last Christmas in Paris

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s