Christian Living · Non-Fiction

We Stood Upon Stars

Right around this time of year, my wanderlust kicks into over-drive. Summer vacation has arrived; lazy mornings, time spent reading, evenings in the garden and plenty of time to daydream about road trips. But with five kids, a car that isn’t big enough for all of us, and a tight budget, travel plans are difficult to put into motion.

And so, I take my desires to go gallivanting about and instead look for the perfect story; something exotic, or far away, or ethereal. Sometimes I find the ultimate book. Other times I strike out. But this year? This year, I found exactly what this restless heart was needing.

IMG_1560
Photo Credit: Shelby Clarke 

We Stood Upon the Stars by Roger W. Thompson is a book of adventures. The author brings you along on his travels, sharing each experience so sincerely that you are right there with him. Without leaving my home, I was nonetheless able to “see” everything the author himself saw. Rarely do I find writing this genuine in a Non-Fiction. With the author’s words, I went to Montana, Wyoming, Washington and Utah. I grinned like a goofball as he described places here in California that I know so well, yet was able to see anew from his perspective.

But my very favorite part of the book, is that the author gets it. Let me explain what I mean. In my studies of history, (which y’all know I’m obsessed with), I love love love when a person goes on a pilgrimage. A journey to find God, ask forgiveness of God, grow closer to God, speak to God. Whatever the reason, it’s always a personal journey with the Lord. This whole book…while so beautifully describing all of these places and sights…resounds with the purpose of the journey; finding God in the voyage, in the trek, in the expedition, in the wandering. This is why this book sang to me. This is why I will read it again and again. This is why, when we do go traveling someday soon, this book will go with me.

Thompson

Bottom Line: “We search mountaintops and valleys, deserts and oceans, hoping sunrises and long views through the canyons will help us discover who we are, or we will still want to be. The language of our hearts reflects that of creation because in both are fingerprints of God.” ~ Roger W. Thompson

Need I say more?

**Thank you to Blogging for Books for the opportunity to read and review this book! 

3 thoughts on “We Stood Upon Stars

Leave a Reply

