Christian Fiction · Fiction

King’s Blood

You guys, I have been so excited to tell you about this book! Also, this review is way overdue. But I have a really good reason for that!

See, King’s Blood by Jill Williamson is Book Two of The Kinsman Chronicles. Which is somewhat misleading (at least it was for this thick Norwegian head) because it actually contains books 4, 5 and 6 of the series. (Which is also why this book is gloriously beefy.) So, I began reading and two things happened: a) I was a tad confused and b) I was hopelessly invested. The only remedy was glaringly obvious; I needed to read the first three books. Which is exactly what I did, and which is why this review is later than I’d hoped it would be. But I seriously couldn’t help myself! It’s such a brilliant series!

KingsBlood
Look at that cover! Love it.

Now, to the heart of the matter. I love books in the Fantasy genre. Growing up, my dad would surprise me with books about dragons, wizards, princesses and elves. I would get hopelessly lost in these magical books and would read them faster than he could buy them. This love of books, and specifically this genre, followed me into adulthood. The Shannara series by Terry Brooks, Lord of the Rings, Chronicles of Narnia and more recently Game of Thrones, became staples for this bookworm’s heart. The problem, if you will, with loving this genre is that it’s hard to find really, really good fantasy authors.

Which is why I was thrilled with King’s Blood!

 

DarknessHeirEndKingdomMaelstromVoices

(I just had to put the books in a row for you…seriously, look at them. How can you not want to pick them up and see what’s inside??)

The story follows the lives of a few different characters…much like Game of Thrones. Each character has their own story, but all end up linked, or at least aware of each other, in one way or another. The characters are amazingly developed and full of depth, while at the same time coming across as very human, complex and relatable. It only took a few pages into Book 1 for me to become completely enthralled in their lives. But what really drew me in was the world which Jill Williamson created; heroes, magic, false gods and an Old Testament undercurrent. Y’all, I was hooked from the get-go. These books are absolutely amazing.

Bottom Line: If you start with King’s Folly (which begins with Book 4), you might be confused for a time without first having read the beginning of the series. But, if buying the first three books isn’t in your budget or time schedule, you will eventually catch up on the story in King’s Folly and be just as enamored as I am.

**Thank you to Bethany House for the opportunity to read and review this book!

Leave a Reply

