Christian Living

Never Unfriended

I have to admit, I passed over this book quite a few times. My thought was, “I don’t need a book telling me how to get friends. And I already know that Jesus is never going to unfriend me.” But then, everywhere I turned on Social Media, people were talking about Never Unfriended. Curiosity got the better of me, and I requested to read it.

It was nothing like I thought it would be.

Unfriended
Photo Cred: incourage.me

First off, I really wasn’t very familiar with Lisa-Jo Baker. So I didn’t know what to expect when I began reading the book. (I’ll tell you what to expect, People. Tears, smiles and your head nodding emphatically before you even finish the Introduction.) I didn’t expect Lisa-Jo Baker to jump right out of the gate with authenticity. I didn’t expect her to be so honest. And I didn’t expect her to understand Stacie the Introvert.

LisaBaker

Lisa-Jo opens up to her readers and lets us see her heart. She shares tales of relationships that have flourished, because she has taken risks to make sure those relationships stay strong. She shares stories of painful relationships, that made her recoil from pursuing new friendships in the first place. All this while at the same time, letting the reader know that she is imperfect, messy and human. Just like me. Just like you. I kept wishing that I could grab her by the shoulders and say, “Thank you for seeing me. Thank you for being real.”

Have you ever sat down to coffee with your friend, holding your face in a perfect smile to convince said friend (who seemingly has it all together) that your life is storybook happy? Me too. Have you ever experienced having that same friend drop her mask and tell you how messy her life actually is? Because if you have, you know that immediate gut-reaction to jump out of your chair, whoop and holler, hug her, thank her, drop your own mask and to dig into life as a real human being with her. Right? Right.

That’s what this book does. That’s what this book is.

Bottom Line: This book will teach you about friendships. It will teach you about King Jesus. But it will especially teach you about yourself.

**Thank you to B&H Publishing Group for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Leave a Reply

