Faith · Fiction

An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorne House #3)

Ohmygosh, I love this book so much!

The End.

Seriously, I could just end it right there and it would be an accurate review. But, it would rob me of the chance to brag on Kristi Ann Hunter. SO, onward I go!

My first introduction to the Hawthorne House series, was when I was sent a copy of An Elegant Façade. While it wasn’t a book that I normally would have chosen for myself, I found myself unable to put it down and got quickly wrapped up in the lives of the characters. (i.e. I was disappointed to say goodbye to the characters, which has only happened to me in one other book. Nope, I lied. It also happened with this book.) When I saw An Uncommon Courtship come up for grabs, I requested it right away. I love a good book series, and the Hawthorne House books are no exception.

Courtship

(Hello, Gorgeous Cover!) Trent and Adelaide are thrown together into a marriage to each other that neither of them saw coming. They don’t know how to proceed, how to please the other, or what the other wants from this new marriage. Heck, they don’t know what they want from this marriage. But both Trent and Adelaide decide, individually, to make the most of it.

The story switches between Adelaide’s point of view and Trent’s point of view, which I thoroughly enjoyed. It gave me the ability to get to know each of them equally, and to see into their thoughts and feelings as they interacted with each other and tried to settle into their new life together. It also frustrated me, because I just wanted them to get over their fears and misunderstandings and communicate with each other, for goodness’ sake!

Kristi-Ann-Hunter-1024x1024

I loved the character development, as well as revisiting characters from An Elegant Façade. (Hello, Griffith! When did you become such a flipping awesome character?!) Kristi Ann Hunter does such a beautiful job of writing a story filled with relatable people, awesome storylines and historical accuracy. (Also, now that I’ve read books 2 and 3, I should probably read book 1. Duh.)

Bottom Line: You can probably tell by now that I recommend this book. Because I absolutely recommend this book.

**Many thanks to Bethany House for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

