Non-Fiction

Happily Homemade

I love cookbooks! This is due to several things. First, I am not a natural born cook. I’m just not. So I rely on my beloved, dog-eared cookbooks throughout the week. Secondly, there’s something really comforting about a recipe in a cookbook; a physical, tangible book as opposed to a recipe found on Google. (Which I do, also! But you know what I mean.) All that to say, when a cookbook comes available for review, I snatch it up pretty quick.

happilyhomemade

So, let’s start with the positives. The book is gorgeous. It’s a nice chunky book, (just say “no” to scrawny cookbooks), the photography is superb and a good-sized portion of the front of the book is devoted to tips and charts and menu ideas. Which is important, in my opinion. Once I got to the beginning of the recipe section, I got out my post-it notes to mark recipes that I wanted to try, and then dug in.

And ended up a tad disappointed. Maybe a little more than tad.

I did mark a few pages; Breakfast Pitas, Banana Pancakes, Bean Quesadillas with Mango Salsa, etcetera.

But the rest of the recipes are just things that my family would not eat. Things that almost didn’t even sound appetizing. (White Chocolate Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes. Um…) A book with 100 recipes is bound to have hit or misses, depending on the owner of the book. But, I don’t see this book being in my weekly rotation. And that’s a bit of a bummer. Also, each recipe feeds 3-4 people. Which means for my family, I would have to double most recipes, were I to make them. Not impossible, of course, but a bit of an inconvenience compared to my regularly used cookbooks.

Bottom Line: Beautiful cookbook. Just not quite right for my family.

**Thank you to Booklook Bloggers for the opportunity to read and review this book

Leave a Reply

