Faith

The Women of Easter

adore the author of this book. As in, I-get-every-book-with-her-name-on-it-without-reading-what-the-book-is-about-first, adore. And I am never, ever disappointed.

This past Christmas, I was thrilled to pick up a copy of The Women of Christmas by Liz Curtis Higgs. The story centered on Elizabeth, Mary (of Nazareth) and Anna. It was the sweetest thing for me during the Christmas season, to see the reason we celebrate with new eyes through the stories of these incredible women. I loved putting the kids to bed at night, grabbing this book (just look at that cover, y’all), curling up next to the Christmas tree, and being instantly transported to Bible times with these three women.

christmas

You can imagine my annoyingly high-pitched squeal when I saw that she had a new book coming out called The Women of Easter, that centered around Mary of Bethany, Mary of Nazareth and Mary Magdalene. I love Mary of Bethany so much, because I truly feel that she and I could be soul sisters. Mary of Nazareth I am seriously crazy about, and Mary Magdalene is my BFF. I have a very long list of Bible peeps that I want to meet when I get to Heaven and Mary Magdalene is on the tippety-top.

Wreath of Snow_cvr.indd

Now, my plan was to save this book for closer to Easter. Maybe during Lent, for instance. So I put it on my nightstand, to await the appointed time. Which was a fantastic plan, except that it taunted me. I picked up one of my new fictions from Margaret George, since it’s about 850 pages. Surely that would distract me, right?

It didn’t.

I read my new “Country Living” magazine.

Four times.

I logged into my Goodreads account and organized my shelves.

Again.

And then I put everything away and grabbed The Women of Easter.

I have to tell you, after turning the last page of the book, I almost went into an immediate state of grief. I did not want to leave the Mary’s. Thanks to the book, I had been given the privilege of meeting them face-to-face, walking with them, seeing Jesus through their eyes. They fiercely, wildly loved Jesus. They followed Him through their fears, their doubts, their personal obstacles. And once they were in, Friends, they were all in. I want that. I want that in my own walk with King Jesus. And for a moment, after finishing the book, I was afraid that I couldn’t do it without them. Then, the next moment, I realized that I had learned so much from them (thanks to the author) while reading this book, that I would be okay. I could take the things that I learned from the Mary’s and apply it to my walk with Jesus.

higgs

Bottom Line: Encounter the Savior this Easter season. Get the book, fall in love with Liz Curtis Higgs, fall in love with the Mary’s, and fall in love with Jesus.

**Thank you, Blogging for Books, for the opportunity to read and review this book

 

One thought on “The Women of Easter

Leave a Reply

