Christian Living

Grace For the Moment

Okay, so I’ve mentioned to you before that I am not a fan of the daily devotional. While I love the idea of having a devotional on my nightstand to read first thing in the morning, I tend to only stick with it for about a week. While we could definitely chalk that up to a lack of discipline on my part, the truth is a bit more elementary; I get bored.

I don’t want a devotional that only speaks to me as a mother. I don’t want a devotional that only speaks to me as a wife. What I want is a devotional that speaks to me as a woman who is crazy in-love with Christ her King. And that is what I have finally found.

Truth to be told, I should have written this review long before now. But I wanted to give it an honest effort before coming on here and telling you guys my thoughts. I am happy to report that I have stuck with this devotional now for 30 days, and am loving every page.

lucado

Grace For the Moment by Max Lucado…first of all, you guys, seriously. Look at the cover! In person, the brown is rich and the writing is all in gold foil. (I like shiny things.) It’s very soft to the touch; the same type of leather (faux leather? pleather? wannabe cow?) that most Bibles are being made from these days. The result is a soft, floppy book that feels so good to hold. Which definitely helps me to want to pick it up to read, every morning.

But the devotions themselves are the big attraction. There are 365 dated devotions. They all begin with a Bible verse; there is then an excerpt included from one of Max Lucado’s countless best-sellers that applies beautifully to the verse and leaves you feeling encouraged. What I love most about it however, is that the devotions aren’t “fluff.” They aren’t just beautiful words or cute little rhymes. They are thought-provoking, appealing, encouraging, uplifting and real.

Bottom Line: It’s a brand new year, Friends. Let’s make starting the day with Jesus our new habit, together.

**I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.

 

One thought on “Grace For the Moment

Leave a Reply

