Christian Living

NKJV Know the Word Study Bible

This is one of those reviews that I always wish that I didn’t have to write. Especially about a Bible. So, let’s just jump right in.

Let’s look at the positives first. I really, really love digging into the Bible. There are times that I love to just read and soak it all in; but other times, I love to break verses down to the original language, research cross-references and so on. So I was pretty excited to see this Bible up for review. On its cover, it states, “Gain a Greater Understanding of the Bible: Book by Book, Verse by Verse, Topic by Topic.” So I snatched this up as quickly as I could! I figured it would have some pretty great resources to help me study it in the way they claim.

The Bible boasts eight full-color maps in the back, which is always a plus; it is the first thing I check. I then always flip immediately to the front to read the various introductions and explanation pages. (Maybe it’s the nerd in me, but I love reading about all of the study resources that a particular Bible has.) I was a little bummed that beyond the usual Table of Contents, Forward and Preface to the NKJV, all that remained was a “List of Topic-by-Topic Articles.” But various Study Notes and Commentaries do appear throughout the Bible, which is good!

nkjv

However, here’s my issue: this Bible should not have been advertised as a Book by Book, Verse by Verse, Topic by Topic Bible. Why? Because all Study Bibles can and should be studied in this way. All Study Bibles are literally designed with this very purpose in mind, in fact. That is what a Study Bible is made for; for you to be able to break it down by topic, verse, Book or even word. And other Study Bibles, in truth, would aid you much better in those endeavors than the NKJV Know the Word Study Bible. The study notes spread throughout, though nice, are not always hugely in-depth. The commentaries at the bottom of the pages are pretty slim and not very detailed. And the Topic-by-Topic page only gives you twenty different topics. Twenty.

Bottom Line: If you are new to the world of Study Bibles, this would be a perfect Bible for transitioning into more thorough study. However, if you are looking for a Bible that truly offers awesome study helps, you will be disappointed.

**I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “NKJV Know the Word Study Bible

Leave a Reply

