Non-Fiction

Under the Tuscan Sun

I am not a big movie lover. And when I do watch a movie, I generally won’t watch it again. I already know what’s going to happen, and I really don’t want to watch the characters go through whatever calamity they’re going to face more than once. However, there are two exceptions: The Lord of the Rings and Under the Tuscan Sun. I have watched these movies more times than I can count, and can probably quote the majority of the lines to you. (Also? Under the Tuscan Sun is on Netflix now. Hello, Stacie’s Friday evening.)

If you are not familiar with Under the Tuscan Sun, I suggest you go watch it immediately. Seriously, feed the kids cereal for dinner, grab something hot to drink and lock yourself in your bedroom for two hours. But here’s a quick synopsis: Woman’s life starts to fall apart, so woman buys a run-down villa in Italy, and discovers who she is while fixing the place up. Also, add in some humor, some seriously feel-good moments, a few raw moments and some happy tears, and you have the gist of the movie. (Also, I’ve mentioned before…I am not a fan of feeling feelings, so trust me when I say that it’s light on the drama.)

61nc11-mhl

When I saw the book up for review, I jumped at the chance to read it. Especially because it’s the 20th-Anniversary Edition! After all these years of watching the movie, I had never read the book.

The first thing I can tell you is, the book isn’t exactly like the movie. In fact, it’s pretty different. Yes there’s a woman, yes there’s a run-down fixer-upper in Italy. But the movie is…well, a movie. Wonderful, obviously. But the book on the other hand, is rich. The way Frances Mayes writes is pretty incredible. I finished the book in just a few days, and felt like I was escaping to Italy each and every time I sat down to read. The way she describes her efforts to fix up her new home, the food she tastes and cooks, the flowers she sees, the smells of Cortona and the places she visits…you literally feel like you are there. It has the same feel as Eat, Pray, Love except that at the end of this book, you want to scratch everything off of your Bucket List and just write “Live in Italy. Immediately.”

fm-9

Bottom Line: This is a book that I will treasure, and will be one of the few books that I re-read. It is comfort food for the heart.

**I received this book from Blogging for Books, in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Leave a Reply

