Faith

Uninvited

Right around the time that I was reading Unashamed by Christine Caine, I started hearing talk about another new book being released that was highly anticipated: Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst. (Also, I still don’t know how to spell her last name by memory.) Due to the level of excitement this book had already generated, I was fairly certain that I wouldn’t be able to get my hands on a copy anytime soon. And then BookLook Bloggers announced that they had some copies for review, and I jumped! (As in, staying-up-late-to-request-a-copy-at-midnight, jumped.) I had heard wonderful things about her previous book The Best Yes and how it had greatly impacted those who had read it. Considering the tag line of her new book was Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely, I decided that I was in for a treat.

5151dyyk3pl

Do you ever have a reaction to a situation that comes out of left-field and slaps you around a bit? A reaction that was out of character, perhaps. Or had stronger emotions attached to it than you were expecting. Or maybe you just have a lingering heartache, a stubborn burden or a persistent weariness that you just can’t shake. I have certainly experienced all of the above.

Here’s the thing; stop running away. You will never heal from these things until you square your shoulders, look them straight in the eye, and figure out where they’re coming from and why they’re hanging around.

I really don’t likereally really hate, absolutely loathe confronting my hurts. I avoid it at all costs. I don’t want to know why I’m feeling hurt, I don’t want to know why I’m feeling angry. As soon as I feel these things, I determine to shove them down (and boy, am I good at that), put on my running shoes and high-tail it in the other direction. But, after doing that for some years now, I am starting to realize that running away simply doesn’t work. (Also, I’m thick-headed. Like really, how long does one need to run before realizing that she’s running in the wrong direction? Duh.)

Running doesn’t work for me. And it’s not going to work for you. What us girls need to do, is get familiar with why we are feeling these things. Which means tracing it back to it’s origin. And a lot of the time, the incident that started the ball rolling is…rejection. Now think about it. Really, truly think about it. Was it a boyfriend? An employer? A parent? A friend? A group of friends? A spouse? Did you reject yourself? It bears thinking about, because I hadn’t. I hadn’t thought in terms of rejection until reading Lysa’s book.

734546207001_3753922471001_sub174-lysa-terkeurst-vstill

Lysa has such a beautiful way of writing. She is open, she is honest, she is real. Compassion and understanding are laced through every page. She draws you in, puts you at ease, helps you settle in for the long-haul, and walks you through it. I loved every word, and am so grateful for the ways in which she opened my eyes. Life is too short to walk around injured, Friends.

Bottom Line: It’s like a book written to you personally from your BFF. Why are you still here? Go get a copy!

**I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Uninvited

  1. Sounds so good. I definitely think my feelings stem back to rejection. Lots of rejection growing up. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

