Fiction

Where Hope Prevails

Oh. My. GOSH. I cannot even believe that I get to write this review. There is a very good chance that this won’t excite you nearly as much as it excites me, but this needs to excite you. Get excited, people!

Okay seriously, think back for a minute. If you’re a bookworm like me, there’s a good chance that you remember where it all began. The one book that you read that hooked you in. Where you bought it, or who gave it you; how it made you feel, who your favorite characters were…right?

When I was growing up, my mother had a closet full of books. One series in particular always caught my attention, and I finally worked up the idea to ask my mother if I could read these books. She made me promise to take care of them, but pulled out the first book in the series and handed it to me. It was titled When Calls the Heart by Janette Oke, the first book in her ridiculously popular series Canadian West. (Now the books have these insanely gorgeous covers, but when I was a kid, they had these cheesy illustrated covers. And I adored them.)

661078-m
See?

I flew through that series, and then read it again. In my teenage years, I read it again and was just starting to think about reading through it again when I was offered the opportunity to read Janette Oke’s new book. Wait, what? How did I not know that she was writing new books? Sigh. Mom Brain, Folks. It’s a real thing. Anyway, I digress. You can imagine that I jumped at the chance. I didn’t even know what I was getting, I only knew who the author was and that I wanted to read it.

You can imagine my delight when I saw that it was Book #3 in the Return to the Canadian West series. And the main character? Elizabeth Thatcher’s niece. Whaaaaa? Cue all of the open-mouthed emoji’s, because I was totally stoked.

I also finished the book in three days flat. Where Hope Prevails follows the story of Elizabeth Thatcher, the niece of the first Elizabeth Thatcher. While I have not read the first two books in the series, I didn’t have any trouble following along and catching up. Elizabeth returns to Coal Valley after spending a summer with her family back east. Upon her arrival to Coal Valley to resume her job as the town’s teacher, she is met with a pretty unpleasant surprise that tests her faith in God. How she deals with this surprise as well as day-to-day curve balls, stretches and challenges her relationship with the Lord in some pretty big ways.

27066714

I thoroughly enjoyed jumping into this back and back into time, both in the story and in my own heart. Janette Oke and her daughter Laurel did such a beautiful job of keeping the book accurate with the historical time period that it was set in, as well as beautiful character development and an intriguing story. I was sad to be done with it, and that my friends, is a good indication of a book well written.

Bottom Line: A feel-good, comforting story. Seriously, put my blog away and go buy it! Off you go. Off off.

**Thank you to Bethany House for the opportunity to read and review this book 

Leave a Reply

