Faith · Fiction

An Elegant Façade (Hawthorne House Book #2)

I am actually disappointed that I have to write this review now. Because it means that I have finished the book, and I am seriously bummed out that I have finished this book!

Lately, I have really been into self-help books, for lack of a better word. Books on growing my faith, strengthening my spiritual walk, drawing closer to God and acting like a grown-up every day. (I am failing miserably at the grown-up part by the way, which I’m pretty proud of.) I even have another book of this nature, sitting on my desk, waiting for me to dig in. And I just can’t do it. My head is too full. Which means it’s time for a break. Bring on the fiction!

When I saw An Elegant Façade by Kristi Ann Hunter, I just had to have it. Because I’m shallow when it comes to books, and I fell in love with the cover. I’m sorry, but it’s beautiful!

9780764218255

See? Told ya! It’s a beautiful cover, but it’s also indicative of one of my favorite time periods. An Historical Christian Fiction with a pretty cover? Yeah, Stacie is taking you home.

Now, as I’ve stated before, I am not into romance novels. Two people falling in love, neither one admitting it to themselves, then bliss as they pursue each other, then a massive fall out, then reconciliation and happily ever after. Like, ugh. I just can’t emotionally handle it. So I was slightly concerned when starting this book, as there’s a definite romance in the plot. But before I knew it, I was literally hooked.

Like, reading the book while making pancakes for the kids, hooked. I’m not even kidding.

Kristi-Ann-Hunter-1024x1024

“Lady Georgina Hawthorne has always known she must marry well. After years of tirelessly planning every detail of her debut season, she is poised to be a smashing success and have her choice of eligible gentlemen.

With money and powerful business connections but no title, Colin McCrae is invited everywhere but accepted nowhere. He intends to marry someday, but when he does it will not be to a shallow woman like Lady Georgina, whose only concerns appear to be status and appearance.

But beneath her flawless exterior, Georgina’s social aspirations stem from a shameful secret she is desperately trying to keep hidden…and that Colin is too close to discovering. Drawn to each other despite their mutual intent to avoid association, is the realization of their dreams worth the sacrifices they’ll be forced to make?”

Oh my gosh, this book was so good. I read it every chance that I got, and actually sat despondent for a little bit last night when I snuggled up in bed and realized that I had finished Colin and Georgina’s story. Like, now what am I going to do? But…but I want to know what happens next. I’m not ready to say goodbye to this book. I need a carton of ice-cream, like now. I haven’t felt that way about a fiction in a really long time. Thank you so much, Kristi Ann Hunter!!

Also, the preceding book is called A Noble Masquerade and covers the story of Lady Georgina’s sister! I am all over it.

Bottom Line: Everyone needs a break now and again into the fiction world. Have this one near-at-hand, because it’s brilliant!

**Thank you to Bethany House for the opportunity to read and review this book 

 

2 thoughts on “An Elegant Façade (Hawthorne House Book #2)

Leave a Reply

