Non-Fiction

Wonderland

Coloring books!! How I love coloring books. Because a) I never grew up and b) I never grew up. I have embraced this truth about myself, and therefore, aim to collect as many coloring books as I can get my hands on. (I should probably also take stock out on PrismaColor pencils. Yep.)

I don’t get the opportunity to review coloring books very often, but when the opportunity arises, I’m all over it. A couple of weeks ago, I noticed that a coloring book titled Wonderland was up for grabs. I am not the biggest fan of Alice in Wonderland stuff, but I was pretty intrigued and requested it immediately. Ohmygosh, you guys. It’s amazing!

img_5753

As I have mentioned before, I am a huge (HUGE) fan of Johanna Basford. I have two of her books so far, Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest. And, unfortunately for every other coloring book in existence, her books are the measuring stick by which I measure every other coloring book. (Nice run-on sentence there, Stacie.) But really, I’m being serious. I have been pleasantly surprised a couple of times by some coloring books that I’ve received. But I was not prepared for Wonderland. The majority of the book is gorgeous!! With a pretty nice “Basford” feel to it. There are many intricate pages. And to be honest, I expected the book to be a bit cheesy, if you will. With silly caricatures or a bunch of Alice illustrations. But there was none of that. You can see by the cover how the characters are drawn. So cute, right? The rest of the book (which is pretty thick!) is filled with pages like this:

showTakeLook

Is that gorgeous, or what? I could get lost for hours. Probably days. The only part that I did not care for (and this is just me, personally) are the pages with architecture. I love, love, love architecture. But for whatever reason, I do not enjoy coloring buildings. So there are a couple different pages that I don’t foresee myself digging into. But they are so few and far between. And if buildings and lines are your thing, you’ll be set! Thank you, Amily Shen, for such a rad coloring book!

Bottom Line: It’s a coloring book wonderland!

**I received this book from Blogging for Books, in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

