Christian Fiction

Flirtation Walk

I was pretty excited to receive this book. Yes, it is a bit of a romance (which y’all know that I’m not a fan of). But it is a Christian Fiction, and an historical one, at that! So I was on board.

Okay, before I begin, I have to say this. Siri Mitchell, the author, is seriously brilliant. I love the way that she writes. I had not had the privilege before now, of reading her books. Which apparently, she has quite a few. Look her up on Amazon, or Barnes and Noble or any of your favorite book retailers, and you’ll see that she has rave reviews. It was because of her writing alone, that I enjoyed the book. She developed the characters wonderfully, made them relatable and fun to follow. Each character is very human, with their own personalities. I actually laughed out loud at some of the things a character would say, or at something that would happen.

Flirtation Walk_Design.jpg

 

But…oh, how I hate writing reviews with a ‘but.’ Especially because I seem to be in the minority! But…I really, really did not like the story line. It just drug for me. I had a tough time staying focused on the book, I had a tough time picking the book up to read, and I didn’t think about the book when I was away from it. (Have you ever read a book like that? Where you just can’t wait to get back to reading it?) The back of the book reads as follows:

“Lucinda Pennyworth, the daughter of a con man, is trying her best to leave her father’s sordid past behind her. When he dies unexpectedly, she takes the opportunity to move to West Point to live with her aunt, ready to take on a new life and determined to marry a respectable man, a West Point cadet, to impress her relatives.

Seth Westcott, a cadet at the academy, is proud to be a the top of his senior class. But when his mother dies and his sister loses their inheritance to a swindler, Seth wants nothing more than to head west to track down the con man. But the army will only send the cadets at the bottom of the class to the frontier…which leaves Seth with some tough choices.”

Siri Mitchell

 

Which means that the story starts out with these characters getting to know each other, bonding, developing feelings for one another…and it’s all based on lies. You know where this goes, I’m sure. The lies are found out, the characters have painful decisions to make, and then the inevitable happy ending. Right? Now, like I said, the writing was great. (And the Author’s Notes at the end are so fun.) I would love to read more of Siri Mitchell! I loved having an easy, comfortable, funny and enjoyable read. I just didn’t care much for theΒ storyline.

Bottom Line: Great author, easy read, somewhat predictable plot.

**Thank you to Bethany House, for the opportunity to read and review this book.Β 

Leave a Reply

