Faith · Home · Non-Fiction

Breaking Busy

“How To Find Peace & Purpose In A World of Crazy”

That’s the tagline of Alli Worthington’s new book, Breaking Busy. I knew absolutely nothing about this book, but saw Christine Caine’s post on Facebook, urging everyone to grab a copy and read it immediately. Which, quite honestly, was all I needed to be interested in said book.

When it arrived in the mail, my eyes immediately took in the cover (it feels so cool!) and the tagline. And my immediate thoughts were, “How to find peace and purpose in a world of crazy. Is that even possible? Because my world in particular, is crazy. My crazy is afraid of the crazy in my world.”

I have to admit, I was a little nervous to begin reading. I am a stay-at-home mother of five. My eldest three are in public school, my youngest two are homeschooled. Currently we are juggling financial strain, a broken washing machine, a house that is never quiet, youth groups, church functions, Boy Scouts, worries for the future, anxieties for the present, failed attempts at quiet time and the all-elusive date night. My crazy doesn’t look like Alli Worthington’s crazy. But then I realized, my crazy doesn’t look like anyone’s crazy. I could sit down with a woman, who’s days are filled similarly to mine. But I promise you, her own personal needs will differ from mine. So, with this newfound realization, I dug into Alli’s book. Because dang it, I need some peace. And I really, really need to feel like I have a purpose. Surely, there must be more to life than making wicked-good Mac and Cheese. Breaking+Busy+Cover

I am so grateful to the author. Like seriously, I need to give her a hug. She is so real! And so very funny. I would curl up in bed at the end of the day, and wind up laughing out loud at something she had written, scaring the heebies right out of whomever happened to be in the room with me. (A ringing bra, people. A ringing bra.) But it was her understanding of the crazy life, the wisdom at how to combat the hectic, that kept me reading. While her life looks different than mine, there is so much about her life that I can relate to. And what I especially loved about this book, was that she kept the “mother” aspect to a minimum. Yes, you know she’s a mom. Yes, she has much to juggle from being a parent. But that isn’t what the book is about. Which means that single, married, parent or not, we can all relate to this book. alli-worthington-819x1024

I wish that I could sit here and share with you my favorite chapter or chapters. But I truly can’t. I loved them all. Finding Your Sweet Spot in a World of Crazy, Finding Your Purpose in a World of Striving, Finding Your Peace in a World of Worry…have I peaked your interest yet? You know you fit into one those three, and there are seven more chapters besides those! In each chapter, she takes you through a checklist of sorts, to really get you thinking; to put your finger on the pulse of your emotions, your desires, your daydreams, your heartaches, your stresses. To really understand your specific type of busy. Then, she tells you how to proceed. How to combat the fears, the insecurities. How to pursue the dreams and the good things. And each chapter ends with a little section called, “Action Steps,” to take what she has taught you and to begin applying them immediately. I cherished these little action steps. You can sit down in front of me and lecture me all day, but if you don’t give me a list of steps to take, I’ll just sit there and be overwhelmed. So ending each chapter this way, for me, was perfect. This will be a book that I will reread when life gets nuts. And that’s saying something. Because who has time to reread a book??

If+it+doesn't+add+to+your+life+it+doesn't+belong+in+your+life

Bottom Line: Please. Please get this book! Break your busy, before your busy breaks you.

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

