Home · Non-Fiction

The Knot Outdoor Weddings

love weddings. Wait, no. That’s not true. I love the preparation that goes into the wedding. I seriously used to binge watch TLC’s “A Wedding Story” when I was younger. I couldn’t get enough of the bride showing off her ring, picking out her dress, choosing colors, reserving venues, deciding on themes. And since my husband and I eloped (for all intents and purposes) on our wedding day, I still daydream about my own “wedding” someday. Even if our ceremony is only just a handful of people, I can’t wait to begin all of the preparations.

Thus, you can imagine my inner squeal when I found this wedding book, from The Knot. (Who, by the way, puts out insanely beautiful wedding magazines.) Look at this thing!

the knot

First off, this book is way thicker than I expected. It’s 288 pages, and is hard bound.  I had certainly hoped that this would be the case, but I really wasn’t sure what to expect.

Next, the photography throughout is breathtaking. The pictures are vibrant, clear, high quality and artistic. I flipped through the book a full four times, just looking at pictures, before I even read a single word. Absolutely beautifully done.

Lastly, the book is broken down into organized sections. Each section represents a different type of wedding venue (Seaside? Garden? Estate?) with color ideas, favor suggestions, cake inspiration and bouquet designs appropriate to each particular venue. (I stuck post-it notes on so many pages that my book won’t even lay flat properly, anymore.)

My one and only disappointment was, I had hoped that the book would have been broken down by seasons as well, not just venues. I love seeing weddings tailored to Autumn, with the Fall colors and lace long-sleeved bridal gowns. Or the weddings held during the Winter, with the bride bundled in a white wedding shawl, the silver accents on the tables and snow in the groom’s hair. You get my drift?

But other than that, I though it was lovely and I am so excited to add it to my library. Also, I posted about it on Instagram, and Carley Roney commented on it. I love when an author, publisher or founder doesn’t get too big to remember us little people.

Bottom Line: Engaged, daydreaming about your renewal, planning a wedding or just in-love with pretty things, get this book!

****I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

