Faith · Home · Non-Fiction · Uncategorized

Rest Assured

Alright, confession time! When it comes to books…actual, literal, real-life books…I totally judge by the cover. Terrible, right? I know, I know.  Think of all the amazing books that I have missed out on because the cover didn’t “speak to me.” Right?! Shameful. I promise that I will work on it.

But, it was the cover of Rest Assured by Vicki Courtney that got my attention.  Seriously guys, look:

Vicki-Courtney-Rest-Assured

Total swoon, right? It is such a beautiful, peaceful cover and I was drawn to it right away. Now to be honest, I didn’t choose to read it at first, because I didn’t want another “self-help” book. I sometimes have a tendency to read too many of those types back-to-back; then my head is so full of tips, tricks, suggestions, plans and strategies that I end up needing another self-help book to clear my head and reset to zero. However, I kept coming back to this book and decided to give it a shot. And I am so glad that I did. I adore the way this author writes. I have mentioned before that I crave authentic authors. Women (and men) who are not afraid to admit that they are a downright messy mess, and are currently functioning only because of Jesus Christ.  Vicki Courtney does this beautifully. I wanted to read her suggestions, because she was open and honest.

Vicki Courtney2015

The book is divided in two sections. The first section is entitled “The Intervention.” It is separated out by various soul-wearying maladies. My personal favorite was Chapter Four, called “Worried Sick.” Because worry is my constant companion, and one that I really want to be victorious over. And I loved, loved, LOVED how she identified with me in that area. I was also greatly appreciative that she balanced the worries of being a mother with the worries of just being a human being. Single, married, mother, student…all can benefit from this book.

The second section of the book is entitled “The Recovery.” Here she gives strategies on moving beyond these issues that keep us busy and weigh us down. And they are literally packed full of wisdom. I dog-eared the heck out of this poor, beautiful book.

Bottom Line: Go on and get yourself some rest-assured goodness!

**I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

