Christian Living

One More Step

As I have mentioned before, 2015 was not kind to me or my family.  (Although it grew me in ways personally and in my relationship with the Lord that I will forever be thankful for.  But maybe next time, God, can we dumb-down my test just a little?)

So at the start of 2016, I determined that this year things were going to be different.  At least the things that I could control.  Which, is pretty much just me.  I can only control me. Most of the time.  I attempt to control me.  I pretend to attempt to believe that I can control Stacie.

Anyway, as the year began, I realized that I was still carrying some pretty heavy baggage from 2015 right along with me.  Which is why the title of Rachel Wojo’s book One More Step appealed to me.  And I am so very glad that I was able to read it.

One More Step

A growing trend that I have noticed lately (and is tragic, in my opinion) is that everyone thinks they need to put on a happy face.  Life has to be Instagram-worthy at all times, Tweet-ready at every moment, Facebook-perfect morning and evening.  But guess what? Life ain’t like that, folks.  It’s just not.

Tell me something:  How are you and I supposed to show the hurting exactly Who our Jesus is, if we present ourselves as perfect?  If we act as though we were saved and BAM, all perfection and blessings and manna from Heaven?  This is why I enjoyed this book.  The author allowed herself to be real.  To be vulnerable.  To be open about her mistakes, her perceived failures, her hurts, her pains.  And then, like a friend sitting across from me at Starbucks, gives advice about how to move forward.  To move on.  To take one more step.

Rachel

Bottom Line:  Read it.  Period.  Your soul will thank you.

**I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

