Faith · Home · Ramblings

Life is Not a Hallmark Card

I love blogs. I love my blog. I love your blog. I love to discover new blogs. And while I certainly enjoy blogs of all different shapes and sizes, my favorite blogs all have one thing in common:

They keep it real.

They don’t make heart-shaped pancakes every morning.  They don’t have a full face of make-up on before the sun comes up. They don’t have the perfect marriage, the perfect children, the perfect kitchen, the perfect flower garden, the perfect waist size or a perfect track-record.  Sometimes they serve dry cereal in a bowl for breakfast. Sometimes they hang out in their pajamas for a week straight. Sometimes they think their husband smells, or that their children are annoying. Sometimes their kitchens are trashed, their flowers are all dead, their waists are twice the size that they were in high school and their past is riddled with hard-lessons-learned. I love those blogs.  Because that is life!

I say these things, because life has knocked me out of commission this past year. Even as I write this, there are things weighing heavy on my heart. And? There is no way that I am going to write fluffy blog posts all of the time, and pretend that life is constant rainbows and fuzzy kittens. It’s not! Sometimes life knocks you on your bum.

But here is what I have learned, during these times of high anxiety.

GOD.

He is constant.  Guys…like, actually constant.  Not sometimes. Not now and again. God isn’t “maybe,” God isn’t “hopefully.” God is now. God is here. God is always. Also? He isn’t sitting on a cloud, playing a harp and singing songs by James Taylor. He is the God of the Old Testament. Do you know the God that I am referring to? The God who split the Red Sea. The God who sent Manna from Heaven. The God who brought water from rocks. The God who kept Daniel safe in the lion’s den. The God who rained fire from the sky. This is the God who walks with you. This is the God who walks with me. And so I press on during the less-than-Hallmark-moments. He is with me. He is with you.

Also? Pick. Up. Your. Bible. Fall in love with it! Read it! Study it! The strength that you will find in God’s Word cannot be described here in mere words. Trust me, Friends.

Trust God.

Leave a Reply

